Home > Uncategorized > Baseball Card Organization 101 (Before & After Pictures!)

Baseball Card Organization 101 (Before & After Pictures!)

One of the gals over at A Cardboard Problem used to refer to themself as “Covered in Wrappers”, well I’m covered in doubles. Well was covered in doubles. I have all these cards that I have no use for, becuase I have another (or 5 other copies) copy of the exact card squared away somewhere in a binder with the rest of that set. They’re just waiting to be traded. I wasn’t just going to throw them away, surely I could find someone that needed these. With this lack of organization, you end up with stacks of cards here.. some there.. and it began to get overwhelming.  You couldn’t get away from them.

Then 5,000 count boxes came into my life.

Here is what we’re looking at before I pick up these 5,000 count boxes.

And you have to realize that this is an organized before picture.. I got all the cards together on this shelf to show how many cards were going into these things. Before getting them all moved to the shelf, there were stacks sitting on the desk, stacks on dressers, stacks on night stands.. you get the point. To put things into perspective, the taller stacks on top have 400-ish cards in them.

Most of these stacks were collated and ready to be packed away, so that made for a pretty easy transition from shelf to box..

This is just the baseball box, the football & basketball box has around three of the five rows occupied. All nicely packed away, and I get a clean shelf!

As you can see by this picutre, I have the cards separated by set with a notecard stuck in between sets to identify the different grouping of cards. Now all of the different stacks are stowed away in this single box. This makes me feel a whole lot better about the entire collection, having it under control.

After the success with these, I might even attempt to move my junk wax era cards into one of these. I do have one of these boxes just sitting there with nothing in it.. Hmmm..

Moral of the story: 5,000 count boxes are your friend.

This project has got me motivated to trade these cards away, as this is just temporary storage before I can find someone that actually has a need for these. If you need help completing a set from the past couple years, please check out my trade list. I’ll be updating it this weekend with what it didn’t already include.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 15, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    Very inspiring! I need to do some organizing myself….

  2. July 16, 2011 at 3:33 am

    I used to use pieces of poster board for separators. I now use top loaders with a label at the top of them.

    • July 16, 2011 at 9:24 am

      That’s a very good idea actually, because the notecards are too tall to fit evenly in there with the lid/top/whatever you want to call it on. I might have to try that..

  3. July 22, 2011 at 6:13 am

    I love 5000-count boxes. I transferred the bulk of my collection to them (mainly the massive non-sports sets) about 16 months ago. I have about 1000 tabs from cut note cards made to label similar to the way you have them, except I had mine cut from the 4×6 notecards so they sit only 1/2″ above the tops of the cards. Even that way they still stick up a little taller than the box. It’s been my experience that top loaders don’t really fit in the 5000-ct boxes because they’re so wide. They do fit fine in the larger shoeboxes, but then you’re wasting space for commons. I’ve done the oversized notecard thing like that before for doubles, and I just fold the tops back so the writing is always facing up when I put the lid on the box.

    For a permanent solution, I wonder how expensive it would be to have little plastic 2-1/2″x4″ tabs cut for use as dividers. Width would no longer be an issue.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

