Home > Uncategorized > Catching Up

Catching Up

I thought for sure I could come up with a more witty, attention grabbing title.. Apparently not.

Well, I’m back from vacation and the whole mobile posting thing failed. Oh well, it was only going to be a couple posts so you’re not missing out on much. Like I mentioned earlier, I stopped at a card shop I make sure to visit once a year. Usually when I make this visit, I end up spending a couple hundred dollars on wax. This time was different. I walked around, glancing at some singles.. Gradually making my way to the wall lined with unopened boxes. Nothing really jumped out at me. Hobby boxes & jumbo boxes of 2011 Topps Series two, a couple boxes of 2011 Heritage, a stack of 2011 Bowman jumbos. Plenty of older stuff too, Topps Flagship products all the way back to ’02, two boxes of ’06 Fleer Ultra, some older Upper Deck.

At this point, I would usually talk myself into getting a couple boxes. This year was different. I don’t know if it has been my realization of how much farther your money can go on singles through sites like ebay or different forums, but I couldn’t bring myself to drop 190 dollars on a jumbo box of Bowman. I contemplated a jumbo of Topps series 2, but I told myself at the beginning of the year I would wait until the boxset released and just buy the base set all at once instead of chasing the set all year long.

I thought long & hard on that box of Bowman, but I convinced myself a $190 Harper lottery ticket wasn’t worth it to me. I ended up leaving the shop with three 5,000 count boxes and a 180 point magnetic screw-down for my Nolan Ryan sweet spot.

A couple days after this, I needed to pick up a few things at Wal-Mart and was really feeling the need to open some packs after containing myself from splurging at the card shop. The Heritage gravity feed must have just been restocked because it was totally full. I grabbed four packs off of the top.

Here’s what those four packs yielded:

Pack 1:

Babe Chrome Refractor

BABEFRACTOR! This bad boy is numbered 22/562. It says on the back of the card that when the Babe first started playing baseball, his contract was for $600 a year. In 2009, Alex Rodriguez made 33 million dollars, a sum that equals out to a little over $74,000 per at bat.

Packs 2 and 3:

Don’t ya think Mickey Mantle and Prince Fielder are an odd pairing? It even states on the card ” Mantle and Fielder are dissimilar types of hitters”.. Weird choice, Topps. Weird choice. Oh, the Stubbs is an SP, by the way.

At this point, I was totally happy with my purchase.. Then we had pack 4.

Rickie Weeks Neftali Feliz Heritage Stamp

Rickie Weeks/Neftali Feliz stamp card #42/62. These stamp cards are 1:211 packs. I’ve gotta knack for pulling Rickie Weeks, who is tearing apart the Reds as I write this.

Everything shown is for trade. I’ve got a project in the works, which will be the main point of my next post. Hopefully..

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 10, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    I could use the stamp card, if I can find something for trade for you. Can you hold it please?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

