Home > Uncategorized > What if Collecting Was A Highly Popular Hobby?

What if Collecting Was A Highly Popular Hobby?

This is a post I have been trying to put together for a couple years now. I had a few drafts of this exact post scrapped over at my old blog nearly two years ago. With some thought, I’ve been able to bring it all together.

Even though baseball cards, and the trading card industry in general brings in millions & millions of dollars.. In the grand scheme of things, collecting baseball cards holds just a small spot in the world of “hobbying.” What if collecting held up in the ranks with Barbie dolls in young girls, or cars in middle-aged men?

It is pretty evident that the baseball card industry isn’t anything what it used to be, but even in its prime, do you think it was a premiere hobby? The most common route of the hobby is the younger child who collects for a couple years, then lets it go when other interests become more important. Then we have another group of collectors who simply never give it up, or take a break and then rediscover collecting later in their lives. If this was the most common route, where the majority of children who started collecting never stopped and in turn changed this hobby of ours into a more popular activity.. Would it change the way you collected?

In the eye of society, card collecting doesn’t get the best rap. We, as collectors, are viewed by many as that guy that we all know.. the one that you will see at card shows. The old, hairy, smelly, weird guy scouring through nickel boxes. If there were many more people collecting, surely the opinion about those who collect cards would change.

What I’m getting at is, if collecting was a much more popular hobby, how would it affect your own collection?

Would you collect more? Less? No change at all?

To me, my collection is something that I take great pride in, but for the most part I don’t display it to anyone other than the online collecting community. If that physciological outlook on cards would change, where you could find people that you could sit around & show off your collections to any where I’m not sure how I would react. I like the uniqueness of our hobby, so I don’t know if I would want the popularity or hype that would go along with an expansion of sorts.

I guess it really doesn’t make too much of a difference, since in reality, we will most likely never get to that point. Just a chance to pick your brain. 😀

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 10, 2011 at 1:42 am

    I collected when it was more popular and I collect now. No matter now popular or unpopular I will collect the same way I do now. That is spending whatever I can afford on the cards I want, not what companies think I want.

  2. June 10, 2011 at 3:23 am

    I’d still collect. I too sort of like it being a weird thing, and I’m not sure I would necessarily enjoy myself as much if everyone collected cards (especially if everyone started collecting Seneca Wallace cards). But I’d definitely still collect, just trying to stay as unique as possible.

  3. June 10, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I think more popularity would be a good thing for the hobby. There would be more unique sets and cards produced and more LCSs and in person trading.

    The more the merrier.

  4. June 12, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    I’d collect either way as well. But I think with the way the hobby is going now, they are running themselves out of business. It’ll be a long way down the road but it will happen. Everything is geared towards the adult collector ($$$) so there isn’t much of a new generation of collector’s coming up. Once our generations have run it’s course, it’ll die off. I don’t see hardly any more kids collecting anymore, maybe they are out there, but I don’t see them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

