Home > Uncategorized > An Unexpected Redemption Replacement From UD

An Unexpected Redemption Replacement From UD

The other day, I had a good ol’ bubble mailer looking at me when I peered into the mailbox. I had a couple trades in the works so the bubble mailer was expected, but it caught me off guard when the return address was Carlsbad. Two Christmas’s ago, yes TWO, I got a hobby box of 2008-09 Upper Deck Basketball. It turned out to be a hot box. With 18 packs and a hit every pack, I ended up with 14 relic cards and 4 autographs (2 of which were redemptions. ) The autographs were Russell Westbrook, Larry Hughes, and redemptions of Rajon Rondo and what I thought was a George Hermann. That was the name I remembered from when I entered the redemption, but a quick google search reveals no evidence that a George Hermann ever played in the NBA. I’m certain the last name is Hermann, but not so sure on the first name. Oh well, maybe I’ll remember it eventually. I got onto the Upper Deck website and logged in my redemptions the day after Christmas and then forgot about them..until now.

I opened up the package, and this letter fell out:

I tossed the letter to the side, reached back into the package and pulled out this:

A Daniel ‘Boobie’ Gibson Premier autograph numbered outta 50. I checked the Upper Deck website and it turns out this is the redemption for the Hermann. I’ll take it! Going from a no-numbered sticker auto, to an on card autograph numbered to 50 of one of my favorite players on my favorite basketball team.

Well, that’s all I got.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Nice Boobie… I’m waiting on a UD redemption card myself. Hopefully I get my card or in your case… something nicer than originally promised.

  2. May 25, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Their redemption replacement program seems to be very sporadic, I’ve seen people redeem cards that sell for $10-$20 and get a replacement that sells well over $100.

  3. Axemanohio
    May 27, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    That’s a great one. Nice hit!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

