Home > Uncategorized > Interesting Cards Found While Rummaging Through Boxes

Interesting Cards Found While Rummaging Through Boxes

Shoe boxes full of cards from the junk wax era. I think every collector has at least one or two…or 12 of these. I have two; the first one is slighty smaller than the other. This one is neatly packed & organized nicely, we run into trouble when we get to the second of the two. This shoe box resembles a mini war zone at first glance. The cards in this box are kind of organized by set, but not collated and stuck in there in no particular order. Cards aren’t packed as neatly in this box either, the stacks aren’t exactly similar in size so you have cards scattered out of place here and there.  There are partial sets stacked on top of other partial sets. It’s a mess. You get the point.

Well the other day I took the iniative to try to organize this box a little. I didn’t have anything in particular I was trying to accomplish, I figured I would just get cards back with their respective sets and maybe collate some of the smaller sets. While sifting through the box, I found a couple different cards that were worthy of sharing.

I have a ton of these minor league team set cards and no idea how I accumulated any of them. It was funny coming across one of these minor league cards and seeing somebody whose name I actually recognized. Young Curtis Schilling. Here we see Curt playing for the Rochester Red Wings. According to baseball-reference.com, he played for them in ’89 and ’90 accumulating a record of 17-15 in those two years.

The only other recognizable player from the stack of minor league cards was Jermaine Dye. Jermaine spent five years in the minors before making it to the majors. It’s gotta be discouraging to those guys bouncing around from team to team in the farm system, waiting for their turn to make it big.

Ricky

I guess A Skybox rookie card of Ricky Williams isn’t all that interesting, but it sure was a breath of fresh air when sorting through a box full of junk wax cards. After a while, 1989 Topps cards start to fry your brain. The gold shiney on this card helped to bring me out of it.

Ricky seemed like such a promising draft pick back in the day. Coming off a Heisman Trophy winning season and on the back of this card it says he held 20 NCAA rushing records. Little did the Saints know what they had coming..

Have you guys ever found anything surprising or out of the ordinary when looking through your boxes of junk wax?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 16, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Most of my junkwax boxes have been sifted through a bunch of times, so I wouldn’t likely find any hidden treasures. However… I’ll pick up boxes I find at the flea market from time to time. A few weeks ago, I purchased a box of vintage cards at a good price and pulled some decent cards… most notably a 1976 Topps Steve Carlton, a 1977 Topps Steve Carlton, a 1975 Topps Mini Carlton Fisk, a 1978 Topps Jack Morris rookie, and 1974 Topps cards of Bob Gibson, Jim Palmer, Thurman Munson, and Carlton Fisk.

    If you’re interested… here’s a link to my post:

    http://sanjosefuji.blogspot.com/2011/04/flea-market-finds-8.html

  2. April 16, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    That’s awesome, I think buying a collection from somebody or just a big lot and going through it..not knowing what you’re going to find would be tons of fun. I saw a guy on the blowoutcards forums that bought an entire dealer’s collection for a couple grand and documented some of what he found. I would love to be able to do that..maybe someday..

    Oh, and by the way, thanks for the first comment on my blog. (:

  3. wickedortega
    April 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    Hey Dude,
    I have a bunch of your A&G 09 needs a auto plus a couple of relics too…. And some cool Reds autos and relics. Would love to work out a trade!!

  4. April 16, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Wicked, you’ve got an e-mail coming your way!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

